Louisiana Bistro - Contemporary Casual Creole Dining In the French Quarter of New Orleans

Louisiana Bistro is rated the number 1 restaurant in New Orleans according to Trip Advisor. Here's why we have that rating.



“The best in New Orleans”
Habitatbubba
Birmingham, AL
Jan 11, 2009

We went to New Orleans for 4 days and 3 nights. This was our first dinner. We did the Feed Me option although the menu had some really tempting choices. I am a amateur chef but love to cook and love to eat even more. I grew up about 45 miles from New Orleans in Cajun country but live out of state now. The whole dining experience here was nothing but spectacular. The atmosphere, staff, wine list- but most of all the food and the chef's personality make this the best restaurant I have visited in my 53 years. I went to Brennans, NOLA, ACME oyster house (my second favorite and excellent for fried seafood), Court of Two Sisters, Commanders Palace. Louisiana Bistro's feed me option is awesome and so superior to the others and even less expensive significantly (but price does not enter into my rating). The chef comes out to the table and explains what each dish consist of and how it was prepared. The restaurant is quite romantic, with about 15 - 20 tables. I could right pages about how great this place is. You can go to all the fancy name places you want, I did but not going here will be your greatest mistake.

“Yes, it's really that good!”
Dee52NY
New York State
Jan 10, 2009

The Tripadvisor reviews are (almost) all so great we figured we'd be a little let down. Not so! The Feed Me menu is great, the food is flavorful, imaginative, perfectly sauced, beautifully presented, and served with friendly professionalism.
Crawfish beignets, mirletons with crab, pork stuffed with three sausages . . . mmm, this is a chef who is creative but not crazy (no goofy foam). Explosions of taste - from rich flavorful unconstructed jambalaya to a delicate lemon beurre blanc. We've been to seven of the top restaurants in NOLA and we've decided this was the best.


“Best kept secret in New Orleans!”
kmvillan
Merritt Island, FL
Jan 7, 2009

My husband and I had New Years Eve dinner at the LB. It was excellent! We opted for the "Feed Me" option, with the request to try the fried green tomatoes. Although it wasn't part of his menu chef Mars gave me a additional coarse to sample! He came out with each coarse and described the meal. Simply delicious. The atmosphere was quaint and cozy, despite the chaos going on just down the block! Definitely will return next trip to NO!


“Feed Me!”
WilliamsJE
Allyn, Washington
Jan 5, 2009

Planned on eating here based on the great reviews and we was not disappointed. Our group decided to go with the 4 course feed me and it was great. The chef came out asked if we were allergic or afraid of any kinds of food to which we replied no, giving him free range to prepare any four dishes he wished. Each dish was personally described by him at the time it was brought to the table. Everything was great. The most amazing thing was he is the only one in the kitchen.


“Hidden gem in the French Quarter
bangsezmax
Durham, NC
Jan 5, 2009

This was our second visit to the Louisiana Bistro (our first visit post-Katrina) and it hopefully won’t be our last. Quaint, cozy and casual with great service and outstanding food. We opted for the “Feed Me” (chef’s choice dinner) and the chef came out and asked us if we were allergic to anything or “afraid” of anything (“and I don’t mean afraid of spiders or something.”) As each plate is served, the chef comes out to tell you what’s on it, a nice touch (we talked to the chef five times during our visit. I think this is part of what makes the Bistro a special place). First course was crawfish beignets with lemon butter sauce & chipotle accent. Second course was roasted halves of mirliton with crab meat & macque choux filling. Third course was a deconstructed jambalaya -- roast quail stuffed with rice & on top of a reduced tomato and veggie mix. All of them were excellent.
Dessert was a white chocolate bread pudding and a flourless chocolate torte. Both were scrumptious. LB has the best coffee we drank in NO (that’s saying something). Great meal, personalized service, a lovely time. This little jewel is highly recommended for a reason.


“GREAT! GREAT! GREAT!”
Dawg24
Jackson
Jan 4, 2009

My wife and I went here the weekend of the Sugar Bowl. We live in Mississippi and go to New Orleans every 3 to 4 months. We have been to probably 25 restaurants in New Orleans and we think this one is the best. The food Chef Mars creates and the atmosphere cannot be beat. We choose the feed me option with a few restrictions and it was fantastic. If you're looking for the big, loud, place to be seen restaurant this is not for you. If your looking for a GREAT meal in an intimate setting this place is not to be missed.


“Fun Place!”
spork-girl
NYC
Dec 10, 2008

Had to make a last-minute reservation for 20 people (for a Thursday evening) and this place not only fit us in, we were treated like kings!

Chef Mars personally came out to speak with my vegetarian co-worker to see what they could do for him, and it came out great.

Several tables opted for the "feed me" menu and I heard nary a bad word (except that there was a lot of food, to which I say "duh").

I do not adore seafood, so I opted out of "feed me" (which is a risk, the chef makes what he wants/has fresh/feels like) so I had the fried green tomatoes (awesome) and the creole chicken, which was delicious.

Wait staff very courteous and well-organized. Good wine list. The restaurant itself has a very intimate atmosphere and is extremely conveniently located. Will stop by again, definitely for the fried green tomatoes, and maybe to be more adventurous next time.


“Great Eats”
MaiseyDog
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 22, 2008

We ate at Louisiana Bistro last night and it was fabulous. My friend and I both had the "Feed Me" option. The chef came out to check if we had any allergies and if we had any foods wanted to avoid. We were both game for anything and gave him free reign. The food was spectacular. A nice blend of traditional New Orleans ingredients, but a contemporary twist. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, a great dining experience.


“Really Good”
odin4566
New York
Nov 11, 2008

Very good food, moderate price, casual dress code. Staff was very good.

The Blue Crab Gumbo was incredible.

I recommend this place highly.

Only nitpick was that the decor was a little dark. It seemed clean, though.


“Best. Meal. EVER.”

CreeHatch
Richmond, VA
Nov 9, 2008

Eating at the Louisiana Bistro was the highlight of our trip, I only wish we had found this great place on our first night in New Orleans instead of the last night.

It's a small, quaint little restaurant with only 11 tables. We easily made 6pm reservations on the same day. By the time we were done eating the place had really filled up.

I highly recommend the "Feed Me" option on the menu. Chef Erik meets with you to go over your likes and dislikes, and then creates a 3, 4 or 5 course meals just for you. He comes out to explain what's in each dish and it's truly a special experience.

Everything he cooked was WONDERFUL! I wish we had something similar here in Richmond.


“Spectacular Food, Cozy Setting.”
213976
Oakland, CA
Nov 1, 2008

My husband and I LOVE this restaurant! Chef Mars creates spectacular food in a cozy, comfortable environment. The first time we went, we ate off the menu. The meal was so good we turned around and went back the next night to try the Chef's "Feed Me" tasting menu. WOW. Now, no trip to New Orleans is complete for us without a visit to the bistro. The service is laid back and friendly, there are only about a dozen tables in the place, and the Chef is always in the kitchen.


“Terrific combination of traditional New Orleans flavor and trendy bistro”
Klseago
chicago, il
Sep 27, 2008

A wonderful intimate setting, easy going great food. Definitely a traditional connection with a comfortable high end taste. We had a wonderful meal and look forward to visiting again on our next eating, drinking tour of the city. Experienced eaters from Chicago love the Louisiana Bistro!


“Loved it!”
sneakyatty
Houston, Texas
Aug 17, 2008

My husband and I went to Louisiana Bistro based on TA reviews. It became our favorite spot in our 5 day trip to New Orleans. We opted for the Feed Me option 3 courses. The chef came out and asked if either of us had any allergies. He then asked if we "were afraid of anything." He then prepared our dinner which was excellent. First course had crawfish. Second course had shrimp and the last course had pork and crab. I won't go into more detail.... don't want to give away any dishes!

We're already planning our return trip to New Orleans and Louisiana Bistro is at the top of our list!

Go back to top


“The Best”
FulshearTraveler
fulshear
Aug 13, 2008

The Louisiana Bistro - what an enjoyable place to eat in the French Quarter! For those who enjoy a quiet, quaint atmosphere, you will be very satisfied. For those who enjoy exceptional menu choices, prepared to perfection, you will be very satisfied. For those who want to be sure and "get full", ask Chef Erik about the "Feed Me" and you will be very satisfied. For those who want the price to be justified by the deliciousness of the fare, you will be very satisfied. For those of you that "set the bar higher", I don't know what would please you. I've eaten in many places in several different countries and have never found a place deserving of the time it takes to put a recommendation into writing. I have the time now to frequent New Orleans several times a year and will always include a visit to Chef Erik at the Louisiana Bistro for one of the most enjoyable dining experiences ever!


“Excellent dining experience”
tpc1249
Starkville, MS
Aug 3, 2008

We took the 3 course "feed me" option and had a wonderful experience. You do not know what the chef will prepare after your initial conversation (you can tell him what you don't want). I won't give details about our meal because being surprised is part of the fun. I will say that crawfish, squab, and swordfish figured prominently. The courses were imaginative, well prepared, and were presented beautifully. I highly recommend Louisiana Bistro and will certainly return there.


“Good food, unique find.”
Beaker TX
San Antonio, TX
Jul 7, 2008

This is a nice small restaurant (dozen tables), with a small menu to match. But, the quality is good. Its in the French Quarter, but off the beaten path. Reservations are recommended. The prices were decent. The dishes (appetizers and main dishes) were excellent. My main complaint is that they were out of two dishes. When the menu only has half a dozen options, that really limits the selection. Regardless, the dish I did receive was excellent. This place seems more appropriate for a quaint romantic dinner rather than a business meeting (which was our objective).


“This is Da Place”
Slow_Pony
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2008

Ate here based on Travel Advisor recommendations and all the great reviews were spot on. Small and quaint, only 11 tables. Staff was excellent. We had the "Feed Me" option. Chef came out to determine our likes and then went to work. They would then bring out a dish and chef would come out and explain about it. Crawfish Beignets were to absolutely die for. Entire meal was just excellent. I will make this a regular stop for future visits.


“I'm going back to Louisiana Bistro”
juliez58
Wilmette, Illinois
May 21, 2008

I travel to New Orleans several times a year, and I've fallen into a rut when it comes to dining in N.O. I checked out trip advisor to find a new place to eat, and came across Louisiana Bistro. To begin with, the location is perfect - right in the heart of the quarter. We were seated quickly by a friendly waiter. (The waiter definitely added to our enjoyment of the evening.) We were a large group and ordered a variety of appetizers, all delicious. I had the fish special of the day - I think it was called drum fish. It was light and flavorful. Everyone else was raving about their meals. This is not a rush in - rush out restaurant. We enjoyed taking our time to enjoy the meal. As far as I could tell, there were only 3 people working the bistro - 2 waiters, and the chef. The decor isn't fancy, but it is relaxing and inviting. For New Orleans, the prices were pretty reasonable. I will definitely return to eat there next time I'm in town.


“Jazz-Fest Gem”
darkhat
USA
May 3, 2008

Incredible little secret restaurant in the French Quarter. This place is not hoity toity or luxurious in the decor. It's like that little cafe in Paris you happened to stumble into one night yeas ago and have been raving about ever since. The food is AMAZING, the service is quiet and self-assured, and the chef comes out and talks to the tables. Definitely order the "Feed Me" option from the menu... We come here every time we come to Jazz Fest.


“An undiscovered gem”
Luvsgoodfood
River Ridge, La
Mar 13, 2008

Gotta echo the praise around this place. We went there after we discovered Bayona's (wonderful restaurant across the street) was booked. Didn't miss Bayona's one bit! The crab meat salad was out of this world. Ribs were excellent too

Go back to top


“Outstanding experience!”
LRCDarnestownMD
Darnestown MD
Feb 21, 2008

I booked the entire restaurant for a group of 40 visiting on business the 13th of February, and was extremely pleased with both the culinary experience and the service provided. Chef Mars worked with me to provide a tailored menu and specifically chosen wines, and I received nothing but positive feedback from every single person present. During my week in New Orleans I enjoyed several other restaurants, including Tommy's Cuisine and Bacco (a Brennan family restaurant), but I was impressed by this one the most. Among entrees, the filet with sweet potatoes and rabbit creole were both superb, as was the gumbo with which we started. Overall just a great experience, and one I'd like to replicate when I next visit the Big Easy.


“If you only go to one place in NO choose the Bistro !”
TheBrowns-NC
Davidson, North Carolina
Oct 30, 2007

Although there are many good places to eat in New Orleans - and we tried quite a few while on our stay there - you won't find a better meal than at the Louisiana Bistro. We along with another couple were staying at a hotel right down the street and happened upon this restaurant our first night in town and what a meal we had. All the food was amazing - the crab cakes, steak and shrimp (I subbed shrimp for the crawfish) and bread pudding are all to die for ! The chef is amazing and happy to prepare whatever you ask for and also has a chef's choice where he will create a special dinner for just your table after asking what things you like and dislike. The atmosphere and service make the Bistro an amazing place to share a meal with friends as you can actually hear each other speak. Kudos to Fred for the flawless service and for making a girl some sweet tea - who would have thought it was impossible to find it that far into the south! We enjoyed our meal so much that we ate here again on our last night.


“wish I tried it sooner!”
mtnwatcher
las vegas
Feb 13, 2007

I ate at the Louisiana Bistro on the last night before leaving and I wish that I had tried it earlier! My hotel was next door and walked by frequently! I went in and as they sat me down they told me that it would be slow, which was fine. I decided to try the courses and it was fantastic! the flavors were great and the chef came out and explained what he made for me and suggested a wine to try with it. If I had a complaint, it would be the table that was seated beside me. They were very rude and the management was trying very hard to be nice. Anyhow! try it and you won't be disappointed!


“one of the best kept secrets in the french quarter”
scro2
new orleans
Jan 9, 2007

quaint and charming small restaurant serving contemporary creole cuisine. we live in the french quarter, and it is one of our favorite restaurants. Everything is exceedingly fresh. the crab meat salad has numerous large chunks of crab meat and is absolutely delicious. the creole surf and turf is shrimp and a filet on top of garlic mashed potatoes. it is heavenly, and reasonably priced. they also have a good wine list, and great prices on champagne. i highly recommend it.


“Ate dinner here three straight nights!”
whalewatchergirl
Atlanta
Nov 24, 2006

Was in New Orleans for the National Association of Realtors Convention in November 2006. Was looking for another restaurant where I had eaten 10 years ago. By the description, I thought Louisiana Bistro was the restaurant. I was wrong, but we could not have been more delighted! In fact, the food/drink was so good that my party and I ate there three nights in a row. Everything we tried on the menu was great, and the staff very friendly. Be sure Fred waits on you, but everyone else was great too!


“The best!”
Allie14
Seattle
Nov 13, 2006

I was recommended to this restaurant by the concierge at the hotel I was staying at (Hotel Dauphine). Louisiana Bistro is a small place but, unlike some restaurants, the tables weren't crammed together too closely. The atmosphere was great and the waitress was very energetic (maybe a little too much). I am vegetarian so I asked the waitress what I could have. She immediately sent the chef out. Right away, he informed me that he wouldn't make me a plate of grilled vegetables or pasta primavera, which is what I ALWAYS end up getting when I ask the waiter for something vegetarian. I chose to get both an appetizer and an entree made specially by the chef and they were delicious! The chef even asked me if there was anything I wouldn't like in my dinner. My appetizer was lots of vegetables in some sort of squash with a sauce and my entree was cornmeal battered green tomatoes with garlic and sweet potatoes mashed potatoes. Neither of them were too spicy. It was the best food I had in New Orleans! .


“Excellent Vegetarian Options”
TomJr
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jul 31, 2006

Finding vegetarian food in the Big Easy is, unfortunately, not easy. I stayed at a hotel on Bourbon Street and found lots of steak and seafood eateries. I ran into this place just a block or two away.

The menu posted outside of Louisiana Bistro specifically stated "Vegetarian Options Available". The restaurant is small yet comfortable. The waiter knew several of the locals' first names and what they liked to eat.

The chef came out and asked me if I was vegan or vegetarian, just by him asking let me know that he knew what he was doing, and what type of food I liked. I told him I'd like something a bit spicy. He prepared two items for me, of his own creation, not on the menu. Both were incredible.

The bread pudding with fresh fruit and vanilla chocolate was wonderful. The St. Supery Savignon Blanc accompanied everything very well.


“EAT HERE”
eatingwell
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 10, 2006

This little place is fantastic. Small, 10 or 12 tables, quaint dining room with local music. The waiters were funny and relaxed, the chef wandered around and talked to tables.

The best part though was the food. I had alligator tenderloin with a Italian picatta sauce. My wife loved her crab salad with fried asparagus. We both loved the flaming bread pudding dessert.

We will not miss this little nook of New Orleans again and you shouldn't either.

Go back to top


“Wonderful, odd food”
A TripAdvisor Member
Tennessee
Dec 3, 2004

The Louisiana Bistro is about 2 blocks from Canal Street and one block from Bourbon Street on Dauphine in the French Quarter. My husband and I were directed there by the bartender at Dauphine Orleans and were so pleased with the food we ate several meals there.

The Bistro is a quaint, well-appointed small restaurant that provides an intimate environment, but we saw several people bring their children in as well. They have a very nice wine selection, and very friendly wait staff.

THE FOOD though, is exceptional. They offer traditional Cajun fare like gumbo, but the chef also makes creations one would never consider like crawfish beignets and sweet potato bisque. We enjoyed the adventure and pleasant surprise that each meal offered. For the truly adventurous, try the "Feed Me" item on the menu that allows you to choose how many courses you want, then puts you totally in the chef's hands while he conjures up 3, 4, or 5 courses in the kitchen. He brings the food out with the wait staff and describes the course with a friendly, inspired attitude, making it a joy to participate in his creativity. The meals are, incidentally, inspired.

We plan to repeat this experience as often as possible next time we're in New Orleans.


“Great little restaurant”
A TripAdvisor Member
Simi Vly, CA
Oct 12, 2004

A great find on Dauphin St! Small place, with warmth, friendly chef, really good Louisiana food. Service was great, and we loved the chef stopping by our table to tell us about the dishes (we ordered the chef's tasting menu). Excellent food without breaking the budget.

Go back to top

 


louisiana bistro, feed me, chef mars, creole, french quarter, new orleans, dining, best restuarant, number one rated, #1

Louisiana Bistro has been rated the Number 1 restaurant in New Orleans by Trip Advisor! We worked hard to gain this recognition and are very proud of it. Come in and let us prove it to you.

  

               2010 Louisiana Bistro         Site Designed by MaconWebServices